Intermittent Fasting, the other caveman diet

There are two types of diets that have come up in recent media which both advocate as being the ‘diet of the original human’. One is the Paleo diet, focusing on not eating grains and no nightshade plants such as tomato and potato if I’m correct. This is all off the top of my head and what I remember from someone’s explanation, so it might not all be correct and it’s not completely relevant to be. If you’re interested in the Paleo diet, I strongly urge you to look it up.

The other type of diet, which I had been looking at for a bit and done some research into and am now trying out, is Intermittent Fasting. Intermittent Fasting is the diet which goes directly opposite the wildly held belief that you must eat breakfast and that it’s the most important meal of the day and is associated with all sorts of benefits. I will not go into this today, again you can look it all up.

Intermittent Fasting works on the belief that when humans were still cavemen we regularly went stretches of time without eating and that our bodies were made for this. I am not interested in this diet because of this, but more for its benefits. Which this video explains and also how it works and how you should go about it and basically is just a general explanation. He has a lot more in-depth videos of intermittent fasting and other things, so if you want to know more you can just check those out.

The main reasons that I want to do this are yes to lose weight, lose some fat, become thinner, but also because it helps me listen to my body more and teaches me how to take better care for it. It helps me keep track of food better, keeps me from snacking at night or taking sugary drinks. It’s more about getting and keeping a sense of control over my body for me.

I joined a facebook group for intermittent fasting that is linked to a specific app for it and at some point, I saw a post from someone who had an eating disorder who asked a question and someone else responded that she had bulimia and that she uses intermittent fasting to gain and keep control of her body. And that made me realize that I actually also fall into that category. I may not have the eating disorder as it is commonly known, and it is definitely not a label I would like to tack unto myself. However, I am very sensitive to food, I am very sensitive to a lot of things, and eating is often really a struggle for me and bad habits are very easy to fall into when a lot of healthier foods are off limits. This gives me the opportunity to really dive into researching healthy foods that I can eat or drink.

For anyone who is worried, I am not doing this because it is becoming a fad diet or something. But I am struggling with a lot of issues, my weight being one of them. A lot of my struggles deal with me grasping for control over different areas of my life and learning to find and take that control instead of giving it up to someone or something else. So for me, this is really about empowerment.

If anyone has any questions or wants to talk to me about this, they definitely can. If you don’t agree with me for doing this, that’s fine, but do realize that this is more than a way to lose weight easily. I fully expect that that will either take time or happen very minimally. This is mostly about taking control of my body and learning how it works.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment